Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission

Bureau of Transportation & Safety

PO BOX 3265

HARRISBURG PA 17105-3265

Fact Sheet for Pennsylvania Regulation of Intrastate Passenger Carriers
The Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission issues Certificates of Public Convenience authorizing intrastate transportation of passengers for compensation.  Intrastate service involves the picking-up and dropping-off of passengers where both the origin and destination points are in Pennsylvania.  
An application must be filed and a certificate must be issued before 
service may be provided solely within the borders of the Commonwealth.

Carriers of passengers include many service types, such as taxi, limousine, airport transfer, paratransit (van), group and party (charter bus), and scheduled route.  PA PUC Form 178-LM is used to apply for limousine authority.  PA PUC Form 178 may be used for taxi, airport transfer, paratransit (van), group and party service when operating vehicles seating 15 passengers or less, including the driver, and scheduled route bus service.  A filing fee of $350.00 is required for each different class of service.  

The exceptions are limousines, airport transfers and taxis offering service between points in Philadelphia, which comes under the jurisdiction of the Philadelphia Parking Authority (PPA).  Contact PPA at (215) 683-9434.

Notice of the application will be published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin for public comment.

Current Pennsylvania carriers holding taxi, airport transfer, paratransit, group and party service when operating vehicles seating 15 passengers or less, including the driver, and scheduled route bus service, may file a “protest” to the granting of the application.  “Protests” must be filed with the Commission and the applicant within the time specified in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.  Carriers and applicants are given an opportunity to resolve protests.  However, if an agreement between the parties cannot be reached, the application may be assigned for mediation before a PUC Mediator or for hearing before a PUC administrative law judge.

Limousine applications may only be protested based on fitness of the applicant.  The Commission will determine if a hearing is required. 

Charter bus, tour and special excursion operators, exclusively operating vehicles seating 16 or more, including the driver, file for authority using Form PUC-GP.  A $100.00 filing fee is required.  Upon acceptance and review of the application, the Commission will issue a Secretarial letter granting the right to provide group and party service between points in Pennsylvania.  Carriers of passengers operating vehicles, in group and party service, that seat 16 or more, including the driver, must undergo a safety fitness review conducted by a Commission Enforcement Officer.

Insurance

As a PUC carrier, evidence of insurance must be maintained with the Commission to meet our minimum requirements (see page 4).  The Commission requires all carriers to provide evidence of 
insurance by the filing of a Form E as proof of bodily injury and property damage insurance.  A carrier’s failure to maintain evidence of insurance can result in cancellation of its operating authority.

If your insurance company subscribes to NOR (National Online Registries, Inc. at www.mcinfo.org), you can request the insurance company to file the required insurance forms electronically through NOR.  The electronically filed insurance forms will reach the Commission more quickly than mailed forms.  

Tariffs & Rates

Carriers of passengers, except group and party carriers using vehicles seating 16 or more, including the 
driver, must file a tariff containing their rates for service within Pennsylvania.  Carriers operating in limousine service or in group and party service, using vehicles seating 15 passenger or less, including the driver, may change their rates and file a new tariff upon one-day notice.  All other carriers desiring to change their rates must file for approval by the Commission.  

Assessments

All carriers are subject to an annual assessment based upon their reported gross operating revenue from Pennsylvania transportation.  Carriers subject to the annual assessment are mailed a form each year to complete and return to the Commission by March 31.  From the information provided an assessment is calculated and an invoice is mailed to the carrier. 

Safety

Carriers operating vehicles seating 16 or more, including the driver, must comply with the Commission’s safety regulations contained in 52 Pa. Code Chapter 37, which adopts the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations at 49 CFR.  All other carriers of passengers must comply with the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation’s vehicle equipment requirements.  The Commission has adopted additional motor vehicle regulations at 52 Pa. Code, sub-chapter E, §§29.401 through 29.407.

Marking of Vehicles

As a PUC certificated carrier, you are required to mark your vehicles with the name or registered insignia of the carrier and the PUC-A#.  The vehicle must be marked in letters no less than 2 inches high by 1/2 inch in width.  Vehicles operated in limousine service and vehicles registered under the Uniformed Carrier Registration Act (UCRA) that are marked with a US DOT number are exempt from this requirement.
Age of Vehicles

Effective January 1, 2008, taxicabs and limousines providing PUC regulated services must be less than eight (8) model years old unless otherwise approved by the Commission.  
Vehicle Registration, Driver Licensing, Special Permits

All carriers must register their vehicles with the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDot) and obtain commercial registration plates for the appropriate authority type (eg TX for taxicabs, LM for limousines, BA for paratransit and group and party vehicles). Regular plates cannot be used on vehicles operating under PUC jurisdiction.  PennDot has jurisdiction over the issuance of vehicle registration plates and driver licenses.  PennDot can be reached at 1-800-932-4600.  

Other General Requirements

All carriers have an obligation to inform the Commission in writing of any change of address.  This is especially important to the carrier as 
 information concerning insurance and other matters is routinely mailed to the carrier.  Additionally, carriers must advise the Commission of their intention to discontinue service.

Contacting the Commission

All correspondence may be mailed to the Commission as follows:


The Secretary


Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission


PO Box 3265


Harrisburg, PA 17105-3265 

Fines and Penalties
The Commission has a responsibility to ensure that carriers operating under its authority are properly insured, meet our customer service standards, and are in compliance with our safety regulations. Carriers under our jurisdiction are subject to fines and other penalties when violations of our regulations occur.  Fines range from $50.00 to $1,000.00 per violation depending on the severity of the violation.
Important Telephone Numbers

Our staff welcomes your questions; you may telephone the listed numbers for additional information or assistance:

Application filing
717-787-3834 

Insurance Filing
717-787-1227

Tariff filing

717-787-3834

Rate Changes
717-783-3834
Safety Office

717-772-2254

Compliance Office
717-787-1168

Minimum Limits of Insurance

Carriers of Passengers
The minimum insurance limit is dependent upon the manufactured 

rated seating capacity of the vehicle.  Carriers operating any vehicle of 

15 passengers or less:
(a)__ $35,000 to cover liability for bodily 

injury, death or property damage incurred in an accident (BIPD).

(b)___
$25,000 first party medical benefits, $10,000 first party wage loss benefits, and conforming to 75 PA C.S. §§ 1701 - 1798 (relating to Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Law).

(c)___
First party coverage of the driver of certificated vehicles shall meet the requirements of 75 PA C.S. § 1711 (relating to required benefits).

16 to 28 passengers:
$1,000,000 to cover liability for bodily injury, death or property damage incurred in an accident.

29 passengers or more:
$5,000,000 to cover liability for bodily injury, death or property damage incurred in an accident.
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